Welcome to the latest stop on the Broken Branches blog tour, but before we begin here’s a wee synopsis of M. Jonathan Lee’s widely talked about new book, a twisty and unsettling psychological thriller…

A family tragedy was the catalyst for Ian Perkins to return to the isolated cottage with his wife and young son. But now they are back, it seems yet more grief might befall the family.

There is still time to act, but that means Ian must face the uncomfortable truth about his past. And in doing so, he must uncover the truth behind the supposed family curse…

To celebrate the publication of the book, here’s an exclusive gust post by the author, where he shares with us some of the books that provide the best twist in the tale…

It would be incredible easy to simply list any five stories from Roald Dahl’s immense collection of short stories. Dahl is my favourite writer by some distance and I don’t think that many authors have managed to capture his style or penchant for the unusual, quirky and plain twisty! However, I do think that you probably would wish for a mixture of writers so, here goes.

Roald Dahl’s Lamb to the Slaughter, my all-time favourite story. An exceptional piece of writing, over just ten pages. It’s difficult to talk about any twisty story without giving away possible endings, but the way this is written and even the title is clever beyond belief.

The Wasp Factory by Iain Banks.

Not strictly a twisting tale in so far as the changing of direction of the narrative, but the reader is immediate pulled in to a strange and unusual world which keeps getting stranger and stranger as Frank begins to discover the truth behind his existence. The ending is mind-blowing. Highly highly recommended.

John Berendt’s Midnight In The Garden of Good and Evil.

 How do you possibly introduce plot twists into a true story? Well, I suppose that you firstly need to find the right story and then write it in such a way that the reader believes they are reading fiction. A retelling of a shooting in Savannah, Georgia in the early 1980’s – this has to be read to be believed.

The Kite Runner, Khalid Hosseini. One of my all time favourite stories with twist after twist after twist. When I first read the sleeve I really didn’t think it was my type of thing. I think everyone should read this book. It is beautiful, heart-breaking and enthralling.

Fight Club, Chuck Palahniuk.

Everyone will know this story by now. But, the first time that I read it, I didn’t see it coming at all. What a twist. What a book.

Not sure whether I’m allowed one of my own in here? I’ll try and sneak it in all the same, A Tiny Feeling of Fear. I would suggest that there has never been a twist like this one and I’d challenge anyone to guess the ending.

Broken Branches by M Jonathan Lee is out now (£8.99, Hideaway Fall)

Catch up with the blog tour at these excellent sites:

