AAAAAimée is a beautiful young widow she s also a killer. Driven by a deep-rooted desire for revenge, she sets about uncovering the secrets of the inhabitants of the sleepy rural town of Bleville, before ruthlessly murdering them. Faced with corruption of a kind she had scarcely imagined, she discovers a deeply moral core under her murderous instincts…

Okay, I’ll put my hands up from the start and say that I never read graphic novels. Well, actually I did manage half of From Hell by Alan Moore some years ago, but never finished as I probably got distracted by something else. Having idly flicked through graphic novels at work- whilst scratching my head over where, and in what series I should shelve them- my general impression of them is that they are mostly populated by a cast of grotesques, and semi-clad women with unfeasibly pert breasts. But I digress. Grasping the bull by the horns, so to speak, and putting my preconceptions aside I embarked on this one with more than a whiff of curiosity…

Adapting the seminal French thriller Fatale by world-renowned noir crime writer Jean-Patrick Manchette into graphic novel form, I imagine, was no mean feat. There is so much darkness, betrayal and violence in the original slim read, underscored by the dispassionate and spare prose of one of the finest noir writers who ever lived, that the reader themselves need to really home in on what is not said by Manchette as much as what he offers up to us with veiled references and the air of burgeoning menace throughout. I was more than a little hesitant, as a staunch reader of fiction where your own imagination comes into play, that my perception of these characters would be undone by reading such a visual representation, and leaving me less for my own imagination to construct for itself. However, my anxieties were largely assuaged, because as much as this book does contain a cast of grotesques and a saucily semi-clad/nude Aimee (with unfeasibly pert breasts) the absolute adherence to Manchette’s novel by Doug Headline, and the darkness that Max Cabanes insinuates into the artwork captures the mood and feel of the original book perfectly with each frame remaining true to the original text. The liberal use of midnight blue and pared down colour, the visual representations of some of the central cast, and the completely no-holds barred depiction of the swift and brutal violence of the book were well-executed throughout. However, on balance, I did find the actual experience of reading this a little unsatisfying, maybe because I was too familiar with the story to begin with, and there wasn’t enough to stimulate my own imagination, but I definitely appreciated the quality of the artwork overall. All in all an interesting digression for the Raven, but probably unlikely to be a regular genre for me.

(With thanks to Titan for the ARC)

 

