crime-story-2016-newsheaderPaula Hawkins to headline Crime Story 2016

Full festival programme and tickets to be released on 10 March at
Crime Story: Portrait of a Criminal

The number one bestselling writer, Paula Hawkins, author of The Girl on the Train, will headline this year’s Crime Story festival.

Crime Story is an innovative festival for readers and writers of crime fiction, providing rare access to experts from the fields of forensics, criminology, pathology and law, who reveal and interrogate the facts behind crime fiction. New Writing North and Northumbria University launched the biennial festival in 2014. 

Appealing to crime readers as well as fans of Serial and Making a Murderer, the day-long festival invites audience and experts to pick apart a fictional crime, which will be written this year by Paula Hawkins.

For crime writers, the festival also offers an extraordinary opportunity to challenge and improve the authenticity of their writing, by giving unique access to a wide range of experts in police science, as well as crime writers and publishing industry leaders.

Paula Hawkins said: “I attended Crime Story in June 2014 on a whim: I thought the concept sounded interesting – a group of crime writers and readers get together to try to solve a fictional murder aided by a handful of experts – detectives, forensic specialists and legal experts. I expected to have an entertaining weekend, I didn’t expect to walk away with ten A4 pages crammed with detailed notes covering all aspects of police procedure, and a head brimming with new ideas.”

“Crime Story gives writers the kind of access to senior detectives, blood-spatter experts and forensic psychiatrists that most of us could only dream about. I found it fascinating and invaluable and have been looking forward to the next one ever since, so am absolutely thrilled to have been asked to come up with a murder scenario for this year’s event. “

Crime Story takes place in Newcastle upon Tyne on Saturday 11 June. The full programme will be announced and tickets released on Thursday 10 March at Crime Story: Portrait of a Criminal, a special event in which two award-winning writers explore the minds of two of the most notorious criminals of recent times.  

Dan Davies spent more than a decade writing the highly-acclaimed biography, In Plain Sight: The Life and Lies of Jimmy Savile, which won the Gordon Burn Prize 2015 and was shortlisted for the James Tait Black Prize 2015. The book is both an extraordinary portrait of Savile, compiled from years of interviews and dogged research, as well an enquiry into the society that enabled him for so long.

Portrait of a Criminal also launches Northern Writers’ Awards winner Andrew Hankinson’s You Could Do Something Amazing with Your Life [You Are Raoul Moat]. The book covers the last days of the fugitive gunman Raoul Moat, who shot three people before going on the run in rural Northumberland. The book is written in Moat’s own words, pieced together from letters and recordings, offering a compelling insight into his paranoid state. You Could Do Something Amazing has already been named by several critics as one of the books of 2016.

Dan Davies and Andrew Hankinson, writers in the tradition of David Peace and Gordon Burn, will discuss the subjects of their work, their own methods and the place of true crime in literary writing.

Ticket holders for Portrait of a Criminal: Crime Story will receive £10/£8 off their Crime Story festival ticket price.

Tickets are now available for Crime Story: Portrait of a Criminal on Thursday 10 March.

Find out more about Crime Story festival on Saturday 11 June.

 

For all media enquiries, including interview requests, please contact Laura Fraine, Marketing and Communications Manager at New Writing North laurafraine@newwritingnorth.com or 0191 204 8850.

Notes to Editors

Crime Story is run in partnership by New Writing North and Northumbria University.

New Writing North is the writing development agency for the north of England, and is an Arts Council England National Portfolio Organisation. New Writing North works with writers to develop career opportunities, new commissions, projects, residencies, publications and live events. It works in partnership with a broad range of organisations, universities, local authorities, regional development agencies, sponsors and media producers to develop opportunities for writers.

Northumbria University, Newcastle is a research-rich, business-focused, professional university with a global reputation for academic excellence.

Northumbria is one of the largest universities in the UK with almost 34,000 students from 131 countries. The University has over 186,000 alumni worldwide. Northumbria has invested more than £200 million in our estate since 2005 to improve the student experience. Northumbria is ranked top 50 in the UK for research power and had the 4th largest increase in quality research funding (REF 2014). According to Times Higher Education, Northumbria had the biggest rise in research power of any university in the UK. Northumbria is ranked 3rd in the UK for international student satisfaction in the International Student Barometer survey 2015, a rise of 26 places on the previous year.

Northumbria University’s cultural partners include New Writing North, Live Theatre, BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art, Tyneside Cinema and Tyne and Wear Archives and Museums.

1     2   3

Produced by  
 
Advertisements