_DSC0185 (Common Raven)What a strange month February was, and unfortunately due to the twin blights of much upheaval in Raven’s nest, and being seriously thwarted by technology, my reading has been slightly impeded over the last few weeks. Consequently, anyone waiting on reviews on PDFs or e-books will have to wait a little longer until my e-reader issues are sorted out. Sorry!

Anyway, all that aside I still managed to get a few reviews posted, and have made in-roads into March’s pile- there is some terrific stuff being published soon. I have also been reading outside the crime genre a little this month as a few crime titles I have picked up this month did not keep me in their thrall I’m afraid to say, so I had a wee break from murder and mayhem to re-focus. I’ve been dipping into Johann Hari’s Chasing The Scream, an excellent examination of the global war on drugs, and Chris Hadfield’s biography- An Astronaut’s Guide To Life On Earth. I’ve also read Death In The Family by Karl Ove Knausgard-the first instalment of his six book fictional biography, the utterly enchanting The Red Notebook by Antoin Laurain,  and am a little way into Fourth of July Creek by Smith Henderson. My performance for the  TBR Double Dog Dare has not gone terribly well as I have bought another 5 books and only read 2 from the TBR mountain- oh well- I still have a month to redeem myself!

As I’ve said March will be a month of reading delights, and as ever there a couple of rather funky blog tours on the horizon too. Have a good month everyone!

Books read and reviewed:

Karim Miske- Arab Jazz

William Giraldi- Hold The Dark

James Carol- Prey (www.crimefictionlover.com)

Torquil MacLeod- Meet Me In Malmo

Benjamin Black- The Black Eyed Blonde (www.crimefictionlover.com)

 

Raven’s Book of the Month

arab1KARIM MISKE- ARAB JAZZ

Absolutely no doubt about this choice as my favourite book this month. Miske’s thought-provoking, poignant, and intelligent study of the racial and religious melting pot of  Paris (particularly in the light of recent events) kept me totally enthralled. The social detail, sense of place and superb characterisation could not be faulted from start to finish, and I felt completely immersed in the lives and travails of his characters throughout. An absolute contender already for a place in this year’s Top 5.

 

