_DSC0185 (Common Raven)June has been a pretty terrific month all round it has to be said with a host of different crime reads and a little bit of acclaim!  Not only am I celebrating my two year anniversary  of Raven Crime Reads, but also thanks to Margaret at the Bleach House Library was nominated for the Very Inspiring Blogger award now proudly displayed on my site. Thanks also to all the bloggers and authors who have tweeted, and left such lovely messages in response to this- I’m feeling the love! I also took part in Marina Sofia’s series at Finding Time To Write where she asked me some great questions about what started my passion for all things crime- it was fun! Not only has June unveiled another selection of great crime reads, but July is shaping up to be equally busy with my involvement in four blog tours and a teetering stack of excellent new releases to get stuck into, as well as the distractions of a certain football competition in Brazil.  I won’t dwell on the continuing issues with my eye, but rest assured, even visually challenged the reviews will continue. Have a good month everybody!

Raven reviewed in June:

Doug Johnstone- The Dead Beat

William Shaw- A House of Knives

Steve Mosby-The Nightmare Place

Dwayne Alexander Smith- Forty Acres

Owen Laukkanen- The Professionals

Jean-Luc Bannalec- Death In Pont Aven (www.crimefictionlover.com)

John Harvey- Darkness, Darkness (www.crimefictionlover.com)

John Gordon Sinclair- Blood Whispers (www.crimefictionlover.com)

Stephen Booth- The Corpse Bridge (www.crimefictionlover.com)

And so to Raven’s Book of the Month which caused the usual headache with such an enjoyable selection of reads this month. The final outing for Charlie Resnick in John Harvey’s Darkness, Darkness was both a step back in time, and a poignant close to a wonderful series. Once again, William Shaw delighted me with A House of Knives, the second in his sixties-based series which opened with A Song From Dead Lips and this new one carried the momentum of the first again featuring the wonderful characters of DS Breen and TDC Tozer.  I was also completely mesmerised by Dwayne Alexander Smith’s debut novel, Forty Acres, which provided a wholly original spin on the emotive issue of slavery, in both shocking and thought-provoking fashion. A book I will be talking about and recommending for a good while I suspect.

 

picture1_0However, this month I am plumping for Doug Johnstone- The Dead Beat, which not only took me back to the delights of my record collection, with its brilliant musical references, but also proved a dark psychological thriller, that captured my imagination and was highly emotive throughout. Loved the Edinburgh setting, the characters, the shifting timelines,  and the powerful yet sensitive handling of the effects of death and mental instability on familial relationships. A great read.

 

 

