It’s fair to say that June has been a month of highs and lows in Raven’s world! After the excitement of the CrimeFest International  convention for crime fiction lovers in Bristol UK, and a celebration of my blog’s first anniversary, I also had the dubious excitement of undergoing major surgery this month and am convalescing. Many thanks to all those who have sent lovely get well messages via the blog, email and Twitter- much appreciated!  The upside to the whole operation thing is that I will have plenty of time for reading during my recovery as I start to feel better, and while having a few June releases still to post, I have made a good start on July’s line-up as well (eight reviews to appear soon), so expect plenty of activity here over the next few weeks. June was a trifle quiet on the review front so…

Reviewed on Raven Crime Reads:

 Product DetailsProduct Details

John Mantooth- The Year of the Storm

Mark Billingham- The Dying Hours

Peter James- Dead Man’s Time

Product DetailsProduct DetailsProduct Details

Thomas Mogford- Shadow of the Rock/Sign of the Cross (Spike Sanguinetti 1&2)

Suzanne Rindell- The Other Typist

 

RAVEN’S BOOK(S) OF THE MONTH

I’ve found it difficult to award one book Raven’s Book of the Month as I was torn between John Mantooth’s excellent Year of the Storm, and the two titles by Thomas Mogford, Shadow of the Rock and Sign of the Cross, which have introduced me to the brilliant and suave lawyer Spike Sanguinetti, so I’m afraid chaps you will have to share the honours! Both authors entertained me in equal measure and hope that you will discover them for yourselves…

 

In other news…I’ve also been reading some fiction this month as well just to keep my hand in: Nathan Filer’s astonishing and touching debut The Shock of the Fall, charting a young man’s life in the grip of mental illness, and Paul Lynch’s mesmerising tale Red Sky In Morning, set in 1830’s Ireland as a man finds himself pursued across the Atlantic in vengeance for a murder he has committed. Also Vladimir Sorokin’s The Day of the Oprichnik, a dystopian but frighteningly real vision of Moscow in the near future, tinged with black humour and earthy language, and a brilliant non-fiction title, again with a Russian bent, Smashed In The USSR by Caroline Walton, centring on the life of Ivan Petrov, a homeless drunk whose natural wit and honesty paints a colourful, but brutal depiction of his former life in Russia.

