October has been a very enjoyable month on the reading front, and has taken me far and wide and is probably the first month where I have read no Scandinavian crime fiction- gadzooks!  So, travelling from Glasgow to Canada with a detour to the Arctic Circle, USA, Russia, Iraq and France this month’s blog has been a feast of delights…

Malcolm Mackay’s compelling depiction of the Glasgow underworld,  The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter – the first of a trilogy. Stalwart of the American crime scene Michael Connelly’s latest Harry Bosch thriller,  The Black Box. M.J McGrath’s  White Heat and  The Boy In The Snow featuring Edie Kiglatuk, investigating murder in some pretty inhospitable terrain. A powerful debut action thriller from Will Jordan, Redemption , who was also kind enough to answer my questions (Interview ) A compelling follow-up to ‘The Survivor’ from Canadian author Sean Slater Snakes and Ladders. One of the most remarkable crime thrillers I have ever read and one of the highlights of crime publishing next year I am sure is Pierre LeMaitre’s Alex,  and to get me in the mood for Halloween, Debbie Viguie’s  The 13th Sacrifice.

I have also read S. J Bolton’s latest ‘Dead Scared’ and a crime debut from Mark Roberts ‘The Sixth Soul’.  On the fiction front I thoroughly enjoyed Kevin Power’s thought-provoking  novel ‘The Yellow Birds’  and  a strange little Finnish tale ‘The Human Part’ from Kari Hotakainen. Just one non-fiction this month with Sarah Manguso’s touching memoir of a friend ‘The Guardians- An Elegy’.

I am actually torn between two titles as my Book of the Month, so award a tie between the remarkable French thriller Alex by Pierre LeMaitre and…

Malcolm Mackay’s wonderfully gritty   The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter– both to be published 2013 so make a note…

